Home >> Sri Lanka > Central Province

Central Province

The central Province located in the central hills of Sri Lanka comprise of three administrative districts; Kandy, Matale and Nuwara Eliya. The province is spanned over a land area of 5,575 square kilometers, making it the 6th largest province by area. The Central Province is home to a population of more than 2.5 million people, It is the second most populous province of the island, and is identified for its broad ethnic diversity. The elevation in the province ranges from 100m above the sea level. As a result, the region experiences a much cooler climate than the lowlands of Sri Lanka due to this reason. The terrain is mostly mountainous with deep valleys, clad with lush vegetation, and is home to an extraordinary range of flora and fauna, thus making it a hotspot for biodiversity.
The Central Province is the fourth highest contributor to the contributor to the country’s GDP and holds a vital significance to the sectors of agriculture, export, energy and tourism. The central highlands produce some of the world’s finest tea, a much sought after commodity in the global market. The province is enriched with minerals and natural resources which sustain numerous industries. The reservoir scattered across the province produces hydroelectricity and form the backbone of the island’s energy needs.
The province was once a prominent kingdom of the island, and the residue of its rich heritage and traditions have transcended across generation. Home to the Sacred Temple of Tooth, and many archaeological sites of historical significance, the province prides itself in being a nerve centre of culture, religion and literature. The Central Province is already a much sought after destination by local and foreign travelers alike, who are drawn by its picturesque views and cultural grandeur. This booklet will explore the lesser- known attractions tucked away in the Central Province, thus unveiling the splendor of this oasis to wanderlust travelers.
Matale District



Nuwara Eliya District


The Central Province is one of the nine provinces of Sri Lanka, the first level administrative division of the country. The Central Province is primarily in the central mountainous terrain of Sri Lanka. It is the 6th largest province by area and is home to 2.5 million people.